Human-Deer Hybrids Search For Answers in New ‘Sweet Tooth’ Hulu Series

Eclectic enough to earn the description ‘Mad Max meets Bambi‘, the DC Vertigo comic series Sweet Tooth is an apocalyptic tale of religious cults, human-animal hybrids and a fondness for candy. Despite the reasonable assumption that such an outlandish plot would probably stay within the covers of a comic book, Hulu have now ordered a pilot for a TV series based on it, much to the delight of its many fans.

Sweet Tooth was a comic book that ran from 2009 to 2013 for 40 issues. It was the brainchild of writer and artist Jeff Lemire. It’s a southern gothic romp which is likely to appeal to fans of Y: The Las Man, Revival or Walking Dead. In it, Gus, a boy-deer hybrid, joins forces with a troupe of outcasts to discover the truth behind the event that turned the world upside-down.

sweettoothbig.jpg
Jim Mickle, director of Stake Land and We Are What We Are brings considerable horror pedigree to the proposed series. If successful, Mickle will go on to act as executive producer on Sweet Tooth alongside Linda Moran, Robert Downey Jr. and Susan Downey.

Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.